The USO Club opened on March 22, 1942 and was constructed by community volunteers who invested more than 40,000 hours in the project.
It is currently the only surviving USO built exclusively for African American soldiers and in 2003 was placed on the National Register of Historic Places.
With partners that include the EURO Alumni Association, African American Military History Museum Committee, Historic Hattiesburg Downtown Association, SMART Partnership, Mobile Street Neighborhood Association and the City of Hattiesburg, the Hattiesburg Convention Commission worked to restore the building and its artifacts as a world-class Museum.
On May 23, 2009, the African American Military History Museum opened its doors to more than 700 people who arrived to commemorate the grand opening of this unique attraction.
The beloved African American Military History Museum in Downtown Hattiesburg suffered significant damage as a result of a tornado in 2013, but hope was not lost and history was not erased as the Museum reopened its doors just one year later.